If you have an auto accident in Tennessee and damage your car, or someone else’s, or you or anyone else is injured you will be glad that you are insured. Here are some FAQs to help you understand this complicated but necessary aspect of driving.
Is insurance compulsory in Tennessee?
Yes it is. You must have current liability insurance when you drive in Tennessee. That protects you if you hit someone else and they claim from you. The minimum amounts are
- $25,000 for each injury or death per accident;
- $50,000 for all injuries and deaths per accident;
- $15,000 for any property damage per accident.
The law in Tennessee requires all drivers to have this minimum insurance or face fines and lose vehicle registration. The state’s electronic insurance verification system keeps a track of all insured and uninsured drivers.
Is Tennessee a no-fault state?
No. It’s a “fault” state. In a no-fault state, like Kansas, your own auto insurance covers you (up to a certain amount) if you are hit and injured by another driver. In a “fault” state, like Tennessee, you claim from the other driver’s insurer or sue them if the amount is more than they are insured for.
If I lend my car out to a pal am I covered?
Your auto insurance covers you if you allow your car to be used by a member of your family or a friend. You must consent to them using it, though.
If I get hit by another driver, who pays for the damage to my car or my hospital bills?
If it was the other driver at fault, you claim against their insurance policy. If the amount you need is more than their insurance will cover, or they argue about who was to blame, talk to Nashville Injury Attorney about filing a lawsuit.
If I hit another car, who pays for the damage to my car or my hospital bills?
Tennessee is a “fault” state, so your auto insurance doesn’t automatically cover you if you were at fault. Don’t admit fault at an accident site. There may have been a reason why you hit the other driver. Was the other driver speeding, distracted or drunk for example? Were you trying to avoid an obstacle or another driver (not the one you hit). You may be able to claim your own expenses if you can prove that someone else was to blame for you hitting the other car. Make sure you obtain as much evidence as you can about the circumstances behind the accident and talk to Nashville Injury Attorney. If the worst comes to the worst, you will end up paying your own bills or claim from your health insurance.
What happens if I hit another car and the driver claims more than I am insured for?
If you don’t think that the amount claimed is fair (your auto insurance company will no doubt dispute the claim in this case) you will need to talk to Nashville Injury Attorney about your legal options. If the worst comes to the worst and the other driver manages to prove you were at fault and the bill comes to more than your cover, you will be responsible for paying the bill. One way to prevent this is to take out more cover than the state legal minimum and, of course, drive carefully!
What should I do if I have had an accident and the other driver claims it is my fault?
This often happens. Don’t say anything at the accident scene that can be used to suggest that you knew you were to blame for the accident. Contact Nashville Injury Attorney for legal help. Tennessee has a law that allows you to still claim damages from the other driver if it is proved that there was shared fault as long as you weren’t more than 50% to blame for the accident.
What can I do if a driver hits me who is uninsured?
It all depends why they are uninsured. They may be breaking the law or have an exemption. They may have stolen the car. You can take out an underinsured/uninsured auto insurance supplement to cover this possibility for peace of mind. Talk to Nashville Injury Attorney about your legal options. If all else fails, you may have to use your own health insurance cover to pay for treatment if you are injured.
What can I do if I am hit by a hit and run driver?
This is like being hit by an uninsured driver except it is a police matter. Most drivers who deliberately avoid stopping after hitting someone are doing something illegal like drink driving, uninsured, unregistered, driving a stolen car and so on. The more clues the police have, the more likely they will find the hit and run driver, but this doesn’t always help you claim damages from them unless they are insured. Again, taking out an uninsured auto insurance supplement will help pay your bills if they can’t be recovered from the hit and run driver.
Contact Nashville Injury Attorney if you have been involved in a car or truck accident
You are more likely to recover compensation from an at-fault driver’s insurer if you use an experienced personal injury attorney in East Nashville TN. Attorney Keith Williams has built a solid reputation for successful car accident claims having recovered millions of dollars in compensation for their many clients. Ring the office for an online or phone appointment at 615-395-3003.
Leave A Comment